Skip to main content

Awards nominations 2022

trophy on yellow background with paper stars and Awards written on top

The Awards Committee of the Guild of Book Workers is seeking written nominations for the 2022 Lifetime Achievement and Laura Young Awards.

We especially invite our Chapters and Board members to pass this word along.

The Lifetime Achievement Award — This award recognizes significant contribution to the goals of the Guild and to the field of hand book arts at large via education, professional practice, research, mentorship, etc.. Nominees do not need to be GBW members. The awardee is granted lifetime membership with no obligation to pay dues.


The Laura Young Award — This award is given to an individual "in recognition of sustained commitment to the Guild; that is, service to the Guild given ‘above and beyond.’” Nominees must be current or former members of GBW.

Contact any member of the Awards committee about your nomination. Please include a letter of support.


Catherine Burkhard:

Mark Esser:

Rebecca Smyrl:

Emily Tipps:

The deadline for receipt of nominations is May 1, 2022. More details can be found at